Another Churchtown Blundell Will

Posted: September 13, 2013 in family history, Lancashire history
Tags: , , , ,

Hugh Blundell was the son of the Robert Blundell of my last ‘Snippet’. He was born in North Meols in 1661 and died on 13 January 1735 in Churchtown. He was buried in St Cuthbert’s two days later. This is his will:

Will of Hugh Blundel late of North Meols, Lancashire, England Husbandman deceased was ? To Alice Car one of the Executors power being reserved to Wm Howard the other… 7th April 1748.

In the name of God Amen I Hugh Blundell of North Meols, Lancashire, England in the County of Lancaster husbandman being aged & infirm in body but of sound mind & memory blessed be God for the Same…..

And I do thereby give devise and bequeath unto my loving daughter Alice Carr wife of James Carr of liverpoole in the Said County Marriner all that my little house or Cottage in North Meols, Lancashire, England aforesaid which I lately built together with the Croft in Crostons field which I hold by lease under Roger Hesketh Esquire.

And as to for and concerning all the rest residue and remainder of my estate & effects I do hereby give and bequeath the same unto my loving Son Robert Blundell and my said daughter Alice Carr equally to be devided betwixt them share and share alike and lastly revoking all former Wills by me heretofore made I declare this to be my only true last will and testament and thereof Do nominate and appoint my Said daughter Alice and William Howard of North Meols, Lancashire, England aforesaid husbandman.

In witness whereof I have hereunto put my hand & seal this third day of October in the year of our Lord One thousand Seven hundred and thirty Hugh Blundell his mark…

Signed Sealed published and declared by the said testator as his last will and testament in the presence of John Brownsword, Peter Smith, Elizabeth Brownsword, 10th March 1747

Hugh Blundell is my 7th great grandfather.

Leave a comment